• Jobs Forum
    (Career Center)
  • Submit
  • Archives
  • Subscribe
  • News & Commentary - Message forums

Windows and C# developent vs open source
    Submitted by Stephen R. Lasky; posted on Monday, December 09, 2002
    Submitter You are missing the point about Perl, *nix and Windows. What should be important to the bioinformatics community is that the source-code of the programs we use be open. As a scientist, I will not use reagents whose components I cannot have access to; I want to know the composition of the protease inhibitor cocktail I use making nuclear extracts and what regents are in the coctail I use to label cRNA (kits are a fact of life, but I won't use a kit that isn't based on a protocol that is published somewhere that I can see it, preferrably in a peer reviewed journal). The same holds true for the software I use to analyze data; having access to the algorithms used to classify the results of an array experiment or to design a set of unique oligos to print on an array is a requirment before I will use the programs. Microsoft has not been a supporter of open source software, and has, according to memos released from inside Microsoft, actively tried to stop this movement. Becuase of this attitude, Microsoft likes to use propietary processes that make porting to a different os difficult. That said, there are open source C compilers and java runtime environments available for windows, and programs written in java run on windows, if you install the latest Sun Java and not the old version supplied by Microsoft (another example of Microsofts efforts to squelch open source, see the news articles about the Sun suit against Microsoft that is taking place right now). And there are perl, python, and tcl interpretors/compilers for Windows (see activestate website). More importantly, there are a many software developers who are working on the bioperl, biopython, and biojava projects whose goal is to facilitate the development of portable code, rather than